The April Sherman Series

By: Bekah Ferguson

I’m going to try something new.

Instead of writing a full-length novel and having nothing to share during the years it takes to complete it, I’m going to write and post one scene at a time. It will therefore be a short story series, each a “slice of life” snapshot, following the misadventures and discombobulation of April Sherman: a young girl being raised in a small town, fundamentalist Christian family in Canada.

Though this pattern may evolve over time, I’ve begun with several mind-maiming experiences of an existential nature. These stories are intended to be ironic and thought-provoking: they are not a critique of Christianity in general, but of harmful dogma. Some of the stories will explore the absurdist/nihilist worldview as well.

Each story will be one scene, though not necessarily in order, as April’s larger “coming of age” story unfolds. Each installment can be read as a stand-alone or as a series, your choice. My hope is to eventually have enough episodes for a novel.

Please be sure to follow me on Twitter or Facebook to receive notifications of each new piece. Enjoy! 🙂

  1. What’s Hell?
  2. Y2K
  3. Ghosts by Another Name
  4. An Open Casket
  5. Damned Nonsense


“I wished to tell the truth, for truth always conveys its own moral to those who are able to receive it.”

~ Anne Brontë

*Please note: This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, businesses, places, events and incidents are either the products of the author’s imagination or used in a fictitious manner. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.